Planting The Beads Of Light


cropped-pearls-wallpaper-2048x1536

One day,
I was given
An unblemished and flawless
Sacred pearl necklace.

One day,
I wore it,
Its magnificence and luxuriousness
Made me breathless.

One day,
I ventured out,
Its allure and richness
Turned all avaricious.

One day,
They tore it,
The exposed and defenseless
Rope of weakness.

Oh!
I was in distress!
I felt so helpless.
Had I been reckless?

I tried to save them
‘Fore they hit the ground
But
They proved swifter
And flowed in a scattered shower of stream.

Pieces of my heart
Accompanied them
When
They struck the ground
Amidst the surrounding petrifying cachinnation.

I got down on all fours
On the ground
Then
Began collecting
The scattered, dust-bathed queenly orbs of light.

My tears washed
The smut-enveloped pearls
And
I saw traces of a spectrum of colours
Peeking through the curtains of grime.

Ah!
The fireflies of mirth
Rekindle the hearth
And revivify my earth.

Today,
I stop here,
In the deserted street so narrow
Gauging the meads of blight.

Today,
I mark here,
In the sight window of a crossbow
Slicing the weeds of spite.

Today,
I wait here,
In the hope of a new morrow
Overcoming the shadows of night.

Today,
I sit here,
In the string of sorrow
Planting the beads of light.
Planting the beads of light.

– SKY

© Seemeen Khan Yousufzai and SKY’S REALM, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Seemeen Khan Yousufzai and SKY’S REALM with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected  8QGY-39JX-FEFC-6Q30

4 Replies to “Planting The Beads Of Light”

  1. Wow wow, this is mind blowing…in some way reading this reminded of a post I once wrote about heart break and how pieces of heart were scattered on the ground and I was trying to pick up the pieces but ended up cutting myself that much more over the sharp edges of those pieces…Beautifully written piece 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your pleasant words of encouragement. I am not very confident about my poetry writing skills, but I am so glad that you could relate to it. I would love to read your post! If, you could provide me with the title or link, I would really appreciate it.
      Once again, thank you, for taking the time out reading and commenting, and for the pat on the back. 🙂

      Like

Share Your Thoughts With Me

